Druckansicht der Internetadresse:

Forschungsinstitut für Musiktheater (fimt)

Schloss Thurnau

Print page

Programme Booklet Collection

Programmheft-Archiv

The heart of the fimt archive is its collection of music theatre programmes, which has been growing continuously since fimt was founded. For a long time, the booklets were stored unsorted and largely unseen in provisionally marked boxes. In 2013, over two two-day work sessions involving about 15 students each, a large part of the collection was sorted alphabetically by main author (usually by composer) and work title. Since April 2013, a student assistant has been in charge of the collection on a permanent basis.

The programme booklets come from donations and estates (including those of Klaus Barnikol and Robert Didion). Several theatres regularly make their programmes available to fimt free of charge as specimen copies (e.g. Komische Oper Berlin or Gärtnerplatztheater Munich) or have even donated closed collections to the collection (e.g. the Rostock People’s Theatre).

The fact that no other institution comprehensively collects theatre and opera programmes underlines the uniqueness and importance of the fimt programme collection.

The programme booklet has also received little attention in (music) theatre research. Consequently, the Institute is currently preparing a third-party funded project for basic research. The source type 'programme booklet' is to be examined exemplarily for its usability in theatre studies. In the process, a database will be created in which the archive holdings can be searched for the most important data (work, artistic personnel, original contributions).

The collection in numbers

The programmes are stored in archive boxes and suspension files. The collection now comprises almost 550 archive boxes for about 350 different works, besides 3 364 suspension files (including 489 operettas, 2 404 operas, 132 ballets, and 339 musicals). The total holdings amount to about 20 000 booklets.

Archivschachteln Programmheft-Archiv

The holdings

The aim is to systematically index the holdings in a database. Meanwhile, we can provide directories of the work titles for which programme booklets are stored in the archive boxes and suspension files. The files are working files and may still contain typing errors. At the moment, a list of programme booklets for ballet productions is nearing completion.

The PDF file is sorted alphabetically by composer. The search function (Ctrl + F) makes it easy to navigate through the files. As only the number of archive boxes for a work is given, you are welcome to contact the student assistant with your specific enquiry about the holdings.

If you are interested in the collection, would like to use it for your own work, or would like to hand in programme booklets for this purpose, please contact Sid Wolters-Tiedge.

In order to do research on site, please register at: fimt.thurnau[at]uni-bayreuth.de

Donations and bequests

We are grateful for numerous donations and bequests that have enabled the collection to grow to what it is today:

  • Donation by Klaus Baberg
  • Bequest from Klaus Barnikol
  • Bequest from George Cunningham
  • Bequest from Robert Didion
  • Donation by Prof. Dreger (via the University of Siegen library)
  • Donation by Klaus Frankl
  • Donation by Stephan Jöris
  • Donation by Roland Kluge
  • Donations by Katharina Milanollo (Richard Wagner Verband Linz)
  • Bequest from Sigrid Neef
  • Donation by Barbara Pessoa
  • Donation by Peter Rieder (Freunde des Linzer Musiktheaters)
  • Donation by Volkstheater Rostock
  • Bequest from Siegfried Schoenbohm
  • Donation by Dietrich Watzdorf
  • Bequest from Erika Zwanzig
  • and many more

Webmaster: Univ.Prof.Dr. Anno Mungen

Facebook Twitter Youtube-Kanal Instagram Blog UBT-A Contact

Zum Menü Informationen für Zum Menü Informationen über Zum Inhalt der der Seite

Die Programmheftesammlung des fimt

Herzstück des fimt-Archivs ist die Musiktheater-Programmheftesammlung, die seit Bestehen des fimt kontinuierlich wächst. Lange Zeit lagerten die Hefte unsortiert und weitgehend ungesichtet in provisorisch gekennzeichneten Kartons. Bei zwei jeweils zweitägigen Arbeitseinsätzen im Jahr 2013 halfen jeweils circa 15 Studierende dabei, einen Großteil des Bestands alphabetisch nach Hauptautor*in (in der Regel nach Komponist*in) und Stücktitel zu sortieren. Seit April 2013 betreut eine studentische Hilfskraft dauerhaft die Sammlung.

Programmhefte_Cosifantutte

Die Programmhefte stammen aus Schenkungen und Nachlässen (u.a. von Klaus Barnikol und Robert Didion). Mehrere Theater stellen dem fimt ihre Programmhefte als Belegexemplar regelmäßig kostenlos zur Verfügung (z.B. die Komische Oper Berlin oder das Gärtnerplatztheater München) oder haben der Sammlung sogar geschlossene Bestände überlassen (z.B. das Volkstheater Rostock). Um die Provenienzen festzuhalten, werden die Hefte gestempelt.

Dass keine andere Institution Theater- und Opernprogrammhefte umfassend sammelt, unterstreicht die Einmaligkeit und Bedeutung der Programmheftesammlung am fimt.

Die Sammlung in Zahlen

Die Programmhefte werden in Archivschachteln und Hängemappen aufbewahrt. Mittlerweile zählt die Sammlung beinahe 550 Archivschachteln zu etwa 350 unterschiedlichen Stücken, sowie 3.364 Hängemappen (davon 489 Operetten, 2.404 Opern, 132 Balletten und 339 Musicals). Der Gesamtbestand beläuft sich auf etwa 20.000 Hefte.

Archivschachteln_Nov16

Die Bestände

Eine Erschließung der Bestände wird angestrebt. Zunächst können wir Verzeichnisse der Stücktitel, zu denen in den Archivschachteln und Hängemappen Programmhefte lagern, zur Verfügung stellen. Bei den Dateien handelt es sich um Arbeitsdateien, die noch Tippfehler enthalten können. Außerdem ist die Liste der Programmhefte von Ballettproduktionen noch nicht ganz vollständig.

Die PDF-Dateien sind alphabetisch nach Komponist sortiert. Mithilfe der Suchfunktion (Strg + F) lässt sich einfach durch die Dateien navigieren. Da lediglich die Anzahl der Archivschachteln oder Hängemappen zu einem Stück angegeben ist, können Sie sich mit Ihrer konkreten Anfrage zu den Beständen gerne an die studentische Hilfskraft wenden.

Wenn Sie Interesse an der Sammlung haben, diese für Ihre Arbeit nutzen oder Programmhefte hierfür abgeben möchten, setzen Sie sich gerne mit Sid Wolters-Tiedge in Verbindung.

Um vor Ort zu recherchieren, wird um eine Anmeldung gebeten: fimt.thurnau@uni-bayreuth.de

Programmhefte_DietoteStadt

Schenkungen und Nachlässe

Wir bedanken uns für zahlreiche Schenkungen und Nachlässe, durch die die Sammlung so stark anwachsen konnte:


Forschungsinstitut für Musiktheater · · Impressum